6 Months Later…

… Everything is going smoothly. Well, as smoothly as one can hope during a PhD. I’ll spare you the uneventful details of what has turned out to be an interesting yet surprisingly peaceful transition. New(ish) city, different university, not enough time and a countdown until my upgrade, which hopefully will make me able to move on to my fieldwork next Autumn. I’ll write soon a bit more about my research.

For now, let’s go straight to business: last Friday, I participated in an interdisciplinary research forum dedicated to « Material Properties » and hosted by the Slade Research Centre (btw, they have a nice exhibition going on around materiality / immateriality). I presented, along with Anaïs, an Anthro MA student specialized in design, a practical exploration of digital infrastructure through cables.

Here are the slides and don’t forget to visit the website (http://complexcables.tumblr.com) which showcases the video and all the materials mentioned in the presentation.

Special thanks to Anaïs of course, but also to the Properties / Weaving RRG at UCL Anthro, Nick Booth, my flatmate Johann who gave me a crash course in all things Internet infrastructure related and my other flatmate / video editor Hinnaa.

Other than that, if you’re a postgrad (or not !) in London, we set up a new study group, hosted by the Anthro Department, and dealing with video methods in ethnography and social sciences: VIDEOGRAPHY. Feel free to pop in or drop me an email if you want to join the fun.

visual rrg videography

Laisser un commentaire